Pixeltroid

• The name is tentative, don't mind it.

This is a project I've been working on for ~3 months. It started out as an example to prove a point that one can make a Metroid engine in Gamemaker, and as a learning exercise for Gamemaker Studio 2.

Premise
    Remember Minitroid? Well, I do. And I though it was a shame to see it die. I've decided to try and create at least one area (possibly more) just for the hell of it somewhat inspired by Minitroid. Run through Brinstar as a tiny Samus Aran, collecting upgrades and traversing this strange alien planet.

Screenshots
    Here's the updated title screen:
    alt text

Another surprise, the options menu works! All of these are fully functional.
    alt text

And a working file select! You can copy and delete your files. They also store playtime.
    alt text

Let's get into the game, shall we? Thanks to a handy palette swap shader written by Pixelated Pope, All three of Samus's suits have been implemented. The only one that still needs work is Gravity, as there's currently no code behind it.

alt text

Pause menu is pause menu. Everything works here too.

alt text

People who helped
    Hackmi - Sending me the Minimus sprites
    Miepee - Title screen drawing
    Tokinsom - Minimus sprites and allowing me to use them
    Shaun Spalding - Platformer Engine
    Chris Broadus - Item Fanfare
    @Miles07 - Item sprites
    @AmwolfMusic - Clipping the development streams I've done
    @Grayson - Making me the Geemer sprite
    Loeder - Temporary Music?(Green Brinstar, even though the demo only has orange Brinstar.)

If you've got any questions whatsoever, ask away. I'm hoping I can share a small trailer sometime soon, and in the future, a demo.

Demo
    Edit: I've made a tiny demo, mostly for the purpose of getting feedback on the game's controls and physics. You can download it here.